Weeds grow in my lawn, too

Posted: December 6, 2007 in Blogroll, Life, Personal, religion, Thoughts, Uncategorized

Peace Within Reach booklet on PDF

Just so you know, I struggle too. Sin has just as big an impact on my life as on anyone’s life. I get physically sick sometimes. I can feel mentally and emotionally overwhelmed. Weeds grow in my lawn just as they do in someone else’s lawn. There will be a day when I die, like each of us, right? I don’t know if it will be by an accident, or be disease, or by old age.

            My perspective here comes from the Bible, God’s Word, which has proven to me over and over that it’s true to life.  It teaches that the sin of humanity, way from the beginning of time, is not only the “wrongs” we commit, but it is the ultimate cause and reason for illness, stress, sadness, weeds like thistles, and ultimately death. Death is the ultimate consequence of sin.

            But yes, according to the understanding of sin for most of us, it is often the cause of the wrong things we do and it is the wrong things we do.

            Last time I wrote about my Sports Night friends, who struggle with sin and who are some of the young thugs in our city.  But I personally struggle with/against sin, too. This message comes from one human, to another.  I personally struggle with irritability at times which can cause me to be crabby.  Poor thoughts toward others and lust can also invade my mind. Obsessiveness seems to have been passed on from my dad to me and I’ve probably passed it on to my daughters. Obsessiveness isn’t always bad, just like anger isn’t always bad, but it can be a cause for worry and for poor listening to others.

            In keeping sin’s impact in perspective in my life, I appreciate Romans 7: 21-25 of the Bible. The great Apostle Paul, after describing sins even in his life, says, “What a wretched man I am! Who will rescue me from this body of death? Thanks be to God — through Jesus Christ our Lord!” Paul doesn’t stop there. In Romans 8, Paul describes that if a person has personally received Jesus, then the Holy Spirit of God fills him. As a person has God in her life, then the sinful nature has less and less power.

            That’s where I’m at. Yes, I’m still “human.”  But I’ve received God’s forgiveness and  now the Spirit of God is crowding out the sin from my life, and residing in its place.  If you don’t mind me asking, “where are you at?

Leave a Reply

